



తెలంగాణ రాజ పత్రము THE TELANGANA GAZETTE

PART-V EXTRAORDINARY PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 07 1

HYDERABAD, TUESDAY, MARCH 24, 2020.

STATUTORY NOTIFICATIONS OF THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA AND OTHER ELECTION NOTIFICATIONS

NOTIFICATIONS BY GOVERNMENT

OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER, TELANGANA

BYE - ELECTIONS TO THE TELANGANA STATE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL FROM NIZAMABAD LOCAL AUTHORITIES CONSTITUENCY - AMENDMENT NOTIFICATION - POSTPONEMENT OF ELECTION.

[Memo.No.251/Elecs.D/2020-49, Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, Telangana, Dated: 24th March, 2020]

The following notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi – 110001, Dated: 24th March, 2020 / Chaitra 4, 1942 (Saka) is published:-

NOTIFICATION

No. 100/TL-LC/08/2019-LAC: - WHEREAS, the Commission, vide its Notification No. No.100/TL-LC/08/2019-LAC dated 12th March, 2020, has notified the schedule for the bye election to the Telangana Legislative Council from Nizamabad Local Authorities' Constituency; and

WHEREAS, the date of poll and date before which election shall be completed has been fixed as 07th April, 2020 and 13th April, 2020 respectively;

Whereas, on 11.03.2020 World Health Organization has declared Novel Coronavirus COVID-19 a global pandemic. Ministry of Health & Family Affairs and Department of Personnel & Training, Government of India have issued various guidelines and instructions to monitor and contain the transmission of COVID-19;

Whereas, Government of India, vide its press note dated 22.03.2020, has asked all the State Governments to take all measures to break the chain of transmission of COVID-19. This includes suspension of all train services till 31.03.2020 including sub urban rail services; closure of all activities except essential services such as hospitals, telecom, medicine shops, provision stores etc. Subsequently, on 23.03.2020 it has also been informed that the operations of domestic schedule commercial airlines shall cease operations with effective from the mid night 23.59 IST hours on 24.03.2020. State Governments have issued various orders including curb on local transportation accordingly for management and containment of COVID-19;

Whereas, the State of Telangana has issued orders of lock down to contain the transmission of COVID-19; Whereas, the prevailing unforeseen situation of public health emergency indicates the need for avoidance of possibilities of gatherings of any nature, which expose all concerned to possible health hazard;

Whereas, the poll process in the above said election would necessarily include the gathering of polling officials, agents of political parties, support officials and members of respective Local Bodies on the poll day, which may not be suitable in view of the prevailing unforeseen situation and related advisories in the country;

Whereas, section 153 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 specifies that the Election Commission for reasons which it considers sufficient, may extend the time for the completion of any election by making necessary amendments in the notification issued by it under section 151, 30 and 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951; and

Whereas, taking into account the above mentioned facts, the Commission, by virtue of powers vested in it under Article 324 of the Constitution of India read with section 153 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, has decided to reschedule the date of poll and subsequent date of counting of votes and date of completion of said election; and

Now, therefore, the Commission, in exercise of its powers conferred under Article 324 of the Constitution of India read with section 153 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, hereby directs that the period of election for the said election is extended by 60 days from date of this notification. The activities already carried out under the said notification shall remain valid during this period. Fresh date of poll, counting etc., all subsequent activities shall be notified in due course after reviewing the situation further.

By order.

VARINDER KUMAR, Senior Principal Secretary.

Dr. SHASHANK GOEL, Chief Electoral Officer & E.O. Principal Secretary to Government.